Project 2 Event Ad

P2 EventFlierEstherBristol-page-001 (1)

  1. Description: My event ad is to inform people about fairly cheap flu shots at Walgreens.
  2. Process (Programs, Tools, Skills, FOCUS principles): I found and scanned in an image, and then created the background using similar colors to the background of the picture using Word. I tried to keep all the shades of green within the same actual color and make the words bold enough that you can read them without too much difficulty. I also tried to line up the text on the left hand side with the shape on the right.
  3. Message: The message is to keep your kids and family safe from the flu by getting a flu shot now while it’s cheap. This is a spoof off the billboard saying “No Vaccine, no kisses.”
  4. Audience: My audience are those who need a flu shot still since flu season is coming around again.
  5. Color scheme and color names: I picked a monochromatic green color scheme because it worked the best the the picture I had.
  6. Top Thing Learned: Double and triple check everything before you make anything final. I kept having to redo steps to get this to the point where I liked it.
  7. Title Font Name & Category: Bodoni 72 Book, Oldstyle
  8. Copy Font Name & Category: Helvetica Neue Bold, Sans Serif
  9. Scanned images used, sources, original sizes, location of scanner used: The scanned image is a picture of myself in 1999 and originally was a 4 x 6 image. The picture itself is grainy at that size, so it doesn’t look all that different resized. I used the scanner in the Spori Lab.
4 thoughts on “Project 2 Event Ad

  1. The colors are amazing! You did great matching the green boxes to the stairs in the background. Of course the top half is the best part of the ad. Not just because the font is rather nice, but the title and picture are hilarious! What is the font by the way? It really makes for a great title and contrasts from the the rest of the text in the ad.

    Here’s a link to my blog of the event ad.
    https://brooksmcfadden.wordpress.com/design-3/project-2-event-ad/

    Like

  2. Hi Esther!
    Thanks for commenting on my project.
    I love the simplicity of your ad. It’s got a funny picture and title, but also is super easy to read. The use of the monochromatic color scheme works well with the background of the photo, and makes the text appear most important. The information is easy to read because the text is bold and big enough. I also like how you used the shape to make the price stand out.
    Awesome job!

    -Angelina

    https://janaemarieblog.wordpress.com/2015/09/16/comm-130-intro-3/

    Like

  3. I really love your color choice. Green is definitely a color that people associate with sickness, so very well done. I also feel like you did a good job with text alignment. The advertisement is neat and easy to read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

